Limb Lengthening Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Consult with Dr. Paley and overview of Paley Institute/St. Mary's Hospital  (Read 4852 times)

jbc

Everyone, as I have posted, I am considering Dr. Paley and Dr. Guichet for my surgery. For those considering these doctors, I hope you find the information of interest. This is my accounting of my visit with Dr. Paley, I will post a similar accounting of my visit with Dr. Guichet in 3 weeks or so.

Caveat Emptor: aside from what I got from Q/A, exams and visits, these are my opinions only, I am not a doctor, this is only for informational purposes and not intended to provide medical advice, everything you do is at your own risk.

Overall

9.5/10 stars. Everything at the Paley Institute is orderly, there is a prescribed process and rigor and the institute seems to run like a NASA control center. The staff is incredibly friendly and not judgmental. The doctors I met (Dr. Packer and Dr. Paley) are very nice, knowledgeable and transparent. They don't try to sell you anything and are frank in their answers and what you can expect. Dr. Paley is the genuine article, and the reasons behind his reputation as one of the top surgeons in this field are all around you when you enter the Paley Institute. He has done this for a LONG time, and has pioneered a lot of what is now being used. An entire wing of the hospital is basically his and dedicated to limb lengthening, and he has a lot of patients to treat limb deformities of all types for people of all ages, as well as CLL. The half star ding is only for West Palm Beach (the location) which I didn't really care for.

Arrival:

I arrived the night before my consultation. I did not stay in one of the nearby facilities, but I visited one (more on this later).

Appointment