Limb Lengthening Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: just basic questions  (Read 1164 times)

tx1111

just basic questions
« on: November 28, 2014, 09:40:45 AM »

Hello

I need some clarification on a few things.

I have been preparing for about 8 months to do conventional Illzarov lengthening on tibias.
I believe I am mentally prepared to go the full length of time conventional Illzarov requires but I am curious about LON and LATN.

I have not really considered these because I dont like the idea of a metal bar going thru my knee but when reading about these it states that these methods of lengthening can reduce the time required to wear frames by 40 to 60%. 

What i need clarification is this. In the conventional Illzarov method for a 6 cm gain, a healthy adult male will spend around 60 to 80 days lengthening and about another 4 months consolidating before they are truly "done" with the procedure. Those 7 to 8 months, they are wearing the frames which I heard is the most stressful aspect of conventional Illzarov method. Then you have another 6 months to a year to get back to almost normal*.
Im not entirely sure of this post procedure healing/recovery time frame, im just basing this off stuff i have seen in the forums but dont know where exactly to check back to ensure if its 100% correct. If anyone can correct me based off of experience or credible source please do so

In the LON and LATN methods everything I read says(if I am understanding correctly) that lengthening with these types of methods only ensures that you do not have to wear the frames for more than 4 months(assuming a 6 cm gain on a healthy afult male with little or no complications). 

Does that mean once the frames are off and you are consolidating with the nails in you are basically in the post procedure "Recovering back to almost normal" phase I was speculating about?